Pageflakes

Pageflakes is a web 2.0 tool that lets you group many different web elements together on one page.   It’s like one stop shopping for all the video, RSS feeds, websites, and blogs you subscribe to.   Netvibes is another alternative to Pageflakes.

I know it is confusing figuring out whether you really need Pageflakes once you have Google Reader.  Suffice it to say that Pageflakes is meant for the uber RSS user who has multiple feeds on multiple aggregators or for the teacher who wants to keep all of her accounts private yet post some of them to a general website along with other web elements for a unit.  Is this correct?

Think about the implications.  Students can view all the web based multimedia elements you put together for a given unit of study.  Or you can just use it to organize all of your own digital media in one place (if you are a “uber” user).

I chose to create a Pageflake to house all of the accounts I will use for curriculum work this summer.  The only negative about Pageflakes it that it has excessively long load time.  It is definitely a problem at the website’s end as I have no problem with wait time on my Mac from my home internet connection.

Here is a link to my RSS Pageflake Resource page    

About Mrs. Grasso

I am a real computer geek; I teach computer technology to sixth-eighth graders; am the K-8 technology curriculum leader and the LMS ConnecTeam leader. I intend to use this blog to highlight curriculum changes and share best practices.
This entry was posted in web 2.0. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment