Social Bookmarking Plan

I chose Option B:  Outline a plan for using social bookmarking as a professional tool yourself, either for your own continuing professional development or to collaborate with colleagues.

My plan:  I have reworked this blog to be used for the curriculum project that I will be leading beginning next week.   Check out the overall mission statement on the Home page  to see what I’m talking about.

A crucial part of the work that my curriculum committee will be doing is sharing both the resources and lessons that will become our new Digital Citizenship unit.  Sharing bookmarks using delicious and RSS feeds will be interwoven into the work that we do.  I intend to do the same thing that you did Sherry to get us started using delicious.  I will get all of the committee members to set up an account.  Then we will create a special TAG for our class (Curric2011) so that we share each others links as we begin researching the various topics on the Digital Citizenship mindmap.

Since delicious allows for multiple tags for any given site included, committee members will be able to tag a site as both Curric2011 AND Digital Communication AND Evaluating Web Content for example.  As long as we agree in advance on the naming conventions for the tags/bundles of tags we should be able to devise a great list of resources to correspond to the the topics cited above which in turn will correspond with the lessons that we need to develop.

Since we will be meeting in person I intend to lead them through the steps using the SmartBoard to model the process.

Here is a link to the RSS Resource page in Pageflakes

About Mrs. Grasso

I am a real computer geek; I teach computer technology to sixth-eighth graders; am the K-8 technology curriculum leader and the LMS ConnecTeam leader. I intend to use this blog to highlight curriculum changes and share best practices.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, web 2.0. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment